della palma gelato

If a shop in Rome doesn’t sell pizza, it sells gelato. I wouldn’t be surprised if this is enforced by law. Earlier in the year I received a tip-off that the best gelato in Rome and the world for that matter isn’t found at one of the more popular gelaterie (that need not be named here) listed in guidebooks  – it’s found at Della Palma. Yeah that’s right. Della Palma. I can now release the results of my investigation: DELLA PALMA HAS THE BEST GELATO IN THE WORLD.

Just off the main piazza where the Pantheon sits, you can choose from its 150+ flavours of this irresistibly cold food. They also sell fantastic pastries, coffee and candies. This little baby you see below is Limoncello, Pistachio and Frutta del Bosco (Fruit of the Forest). Della Palma can also be found in my other favourite city too – NYC. Look it up if you are in the area.

Gelato…an essential ingredient in every “Roman Holiday” (sorry)

Leave a comment